There is nothing wrong with enjoying alcoholic beverages, as long as you ensure that you don’t overdo it or have a designated driver ready to ensure you don’t get behind the wheel after having too much to drink. As you already know, when you drink beer, wine, cocktails, and other adult beverages, alcohol enters your bloodstream. The amount of alcohol found in your bloodstream is indicative of how much you have had to drink. The more alcohol in your blood, the higher your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) will be, and the more your judgment is impaired. Like all states, the state of Virginia has laws that put a limit on the amount of alcohol that can be found in your bloodstream while operating a vehicle. These laws are designed to protect the public from drunk drivers. 

In this blog, we’ll share some important information you need to know regarding blood alcohol limits in Virginia and the consequences that come with a drunk driving charge.

What Is The Blood Alcohol Limit in Virginia?

The blood alcohol level in Virginia depends on your age as well as the type of license you have. Drivers who are under 21 can be charged with a DUI (driving under the influence) or DWI (driving while intoxicated) even with a small amount of alcohol in their system, ranging from 0.00 to 0.02 percent BAC. For drivers of commercial vehicles in the state, the percentage of alcohol that a driver is allowed to have in their blood while operating a vehicle is 0.04 percent. All other drivers are held to a 0.08 percent limit. 

How Much Alcohol Can You Drink While Staying Under The Legal Limit?

The conventional ruling suggests that one drink can be had per hour to stay within the legal limit to drive. While this is a good rule of thumb, it is not always accurate. A person’s blood-alcohol level is determined by other factors than just the number of drinks consumed in a certain time. A person’s weight, how much they’ve eaten, their gender, and how quickly drinks are consumed all affect BAC levels. You can find a variety of blood alcohol calculators online or handheld breathalyzers that can be used to calculate your BAC, but these aren’t always the most accurate. This is why the best approach to drinking and driving involves using a designated driver.

What Happens When You’re Arrested For Drunk Driving in Virginia?

If pulled over for drunk driving and your BAC is over the legal limit, you will be arrested and taken to jail. For most DUI charges, a bail amount will be posted. Paying the posted bail amount will allow the defendant to get out of jail — the paid amount (minus fees) will be returned to the defendant after they appear for their court date. If the defendant does not have the money to post their own bail, they can get the money from a reputable bail bond company. Some of the consequences that come with drunk driving charges include license revocation, jail time for community service, and heavy fines. 

Trust Affordable Bail Bonding For DUI Bail Bonds in Rocky Mount

If you or a loved one is arrested for drunk driving, you can get the bail money you need by contacting Affordable Bail Bonding. We have experience dealing with bail bonds for DUI & DWI charges in the state of Virginia. To learn more, contact us!