If you, a close friend, or a loved one has been arrested for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), you may hear this term used interchangeably with DUI—Driving Under the Influence. Understandably, this can cause confusion and make you wonder how to prepare for your court case properly. In this blog, we explain how DWIs and DUIs differ in the state of Virginia, what they are, and what you need to know in order to post bail with help from Affordable Bail Bonding in Danville, VA. 

What Is The Difference Between a DUI and DWI in Virginia?

Officially, Virginia officially uses the term DWI to describe all drunk or drugged driving. However, as mentioned, officials, including lawyers, use the terms Driving While Intoxicated and Driving Under the Influence synonymously. Meaning, they mean the same thing. The truth is, there is not a distinction in the state of Virginia when it comes to DWI vs. DUI. Although you may hear these terms and think they describe different charges, they do not.

What Is A DWI?

Virginia DWI laws prohibit all motorists from driving or operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Specifically, someone may be arrested for Driving While Intoxicated in Danville, VA if:

  • They are 21 and over, and have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more
  • They are younger than 21 and have a BAC of .02% or more
  • They have a commercial driver’s license (CDL) and have a BAC of .04% or more.

In terms of drugs specifically, you or your loved one was arrested for DWI if:

  • They have a blood concentration of .1 milligrams per liter or more of methamphetamine (Meth)
  • They have a blood concentration of .02 milligrams per liter or more of cocaine, or
  • They have a blood concentration of .02 milligrams per liter or more of phencyclidine (PCP)

 

Often times, a person is considered “driving while intoxicated” if the substance ingested impairs the judgment of the individual and inhibits their ability to operate a vehicle. Note that in Virginia, an individual does not have to be physically driving a vehicle to still be considered “driving while intoxicated.” This means a person sitting behind the wheel of a car with the keys in the ignition can still be considered driving while intoxicated in Danville.

How Is Bail Determined For DWI?

Depending on if this is your first offense or your third (let’s hope not!), your bail could be set between $3,000 and $5,000. This is dependent on your BAC at the time of arrest, your age, and your license type. Keep in mind that Virginia is a zero-tolerance state, meaning there will be mandatory penalties regardless if you are found not guilty.

Need Bail Bonds for DUI & DWI?

With Affordable Bail Bonding in Danville, VA, we can help you get out of jail fast after you have been arrested for a DUI or DWI. Our team of experienced professionals is available 24/7 and trained to work fast, completing the bond paperwork in as few as 15 minutes. Call us today if you need bail bonds for DUI & DWI.